Global Mass Surveillance

Global Mass Surveillance - The Fourteen Eyes

The UKUSA Agreement is an agreement between the United Kingdom, United States, Australia, Canada, and New Zealand to cooperatively collect, analyze, and share intelligence.

Members of this group, known as the Five Eyes, focus on gathering and analyzing intelligence from different parts of the world. While Five Eyes countries have agreed to not spy on each other as adversaries, leaks by Snowden have revealed that some Five Eyes members monitor each other's citizens and share intelligence to avoid breaking domestic laws that prohibit them from spying on their own citizens.

The Five Eyes alliance also cooperates with groups of third-party countries to share intelligence (forming the Nine Eyes and Fourteen Eyes); however, Five Eyes and third-party countries can and do spy on each other.

The terms “Five Eyes“, “Nine Eyes“, and “14 Eyes” often appear in the privacy community. The 5 Eyes, 9 Eyes, and 14 Eyes are the largest and most important agreements that create the legal framework for such coordinated activity.

In short, these are just international surveillance alliances representing various countries around the world. These surveillance alliances work together to collect and share mass surveillance data with each other. This network has been spying on people for decades.

The state agencies behind these efforts often work with internet service providers and other large tech companies to tap key infrastructure for data surveillance.Fortunately, there are some simple solutions to keep your data safe that you will find on our website.

Five Eyes

  1. Australia
  2. Canada
  3. New Zealand
  4. U.K.
  5. USA

Nine Eyes

  1. Denmark
  2. France
  3. Netherlands
  4. Norway

Fourteen Eyes

  1. Belgium
  2. Germany
  3. Italy
  4. Spain
  5. Sweden

Other partners

  • Israel, Japan, Singapore, and South Korea are all suspected to be third parties with the NSA.
  • There is a SIGINT Seniors of Europe
  • There is a SIGINT Seniors of the Pacific
  • Singapore and Thailand.
There are also non-Western intelligence-sharing alliances, such as the:

  • Shanghai Cooperation Organization between China, India, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Pakistan, Russia, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan.